The Pearson BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Customer Service is for learners who work in, or who want to work in customer service in roles such as Customer Service Advisor, Customer Service Operator, Call Centre Advisor, Help Desk Operative and Service Agent.

It gives learners the opportunity to:

  • develop and demonstrate technical and wider sector-related knowledge to underpin competence in the job roles stated above. Technical knowledge includes the principles and practices of delivering customer service and understanding the different types of customers, their needs, wants and expectations. Wider sector-related knowledge includes equality and diversity, organisational structure and environment, and legislation and regulations that govern the industry
  • develop and demonstrate a range of technical skills and behaviours that supports competence in the job roles stated above. This includes communicating with customers using appropriate communication channels, resolving customer problems and complaints, building relationships with customers, promoting additional products and/or services and the ability to improve own learning and performance

  • develop their own personal growth and engagement in learning through the development of personal, learning and thinking skills (PLTS)

  • have existing skills recognised

  • achieve a nationally recognised Level 2 qualification.

What you will need to complete the apprenticeship

In order to complete the BTEC Level 2 Apprenticeship in Customer Service you will need to complete the following components;


Employee Rights and Responsibilities 

The ERR component of this Apprenticeship can be achieved either through the optional unit Employee Rights and Responsibilities (QCF) included within the combined qualification, or through the Instructus Skills online ERR Workbook available from the Instructus Skills e-learning portal.

Personal Learning and Thinking Skills

All 6 Personal Learning and Thinking Skills (PLTS) must be achieved and evidenced by the apprentice as part of the framework requirements. The PLTS have been mapped to the mandatory units of the combined qualification to demonstrate where these skills are likely to naturally occur. Mapping is included within the competence qualification specification document.